City of Henderson, NC

Recreation and Parks Commission


This Commission consists of 12 members (7 City and 5 County appointees). They meet on the second Thursday of every month at 12:00 Noon (at the Aycock Rec Complex). This Commission works to develop recreational plans and programs for Henderson and Vance County residents and gives guidance to the City Council, Board of County Commissioners and Recreation Department Staff on policies affecting recreational programs, facilities and resources.

City Members – 3 year terms

Appointed/Reappointment Date

Vernon Brown Reappointed July 9,2018 at CC Mtg.
Hilda Delbridge, Vice Chair Reappointed July – 2016 at CC Mtg.
Fred Robertson Appointed August 2-2018 at CC Mtg.

County Members – 4 year terms

Appointed/Reappointed Date
Shane Jenkins Reappointed 6-6-2016 at CC Mtg.
Donna Stearns Reappointed 6-3-2019 at CC Mtg. (appointed at 11-6-2017)
Randy Oxendine, Chairman Reappointed 6-6-2016 at CC Mtg.
George Watkins Reappointed 6-3-19 at CC Mtg. (appointed at 7-1998)
Ed Wilson 6-30-2015 (appointed at 7-1991 CC Mtg)