This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

output-onlinepngtools(4)

City Council Members

Overview 

Henderson functions under a Council/Manager non-partisan form of government. The City Council is comprised of eight part-time council members representing the four Wards of the City, along with the Mayor. The council members serve four-year staggered terms and the mayor serves a four-year term.

Responsibilities

The City Council is the policy-making body for the City of Henderson. The Council is responsible for adopting the budget; establishing policy; enacting ordinances, resolutions, and other actions; approving appropriations and contracts; and levying taxes. In addition, City Council appoints the city manager, city attorney, city clerk, along with the members of various boards and commissions.

The Henderson City Council meets on the 2nd Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in Council Chambers, 134 Rose Avenue.  Below is your current Council:

marion-williams-2

Marion Brodie Williams:  Ward 1
Term Expires: 2023
Email: mwilliams@ci.henderson.nc.us
Phone: 252-767-3977
Committee Assignments: Boards & Commissions, Land Planning, Public Works

Sara-CoffeyA

Sara M. Coffey: Ward 1 At-Large
Term  Expires: 2021
Email: scoffey@ci.henderson.nc.us
Phone: 252-430-6300
Committee Assignments:  Bpards & Commissions, Human Resources, Public Safety

michael-rainey-2

D. Michael Rainey:  Ward 2
Term Expires: 2023
Email: mrainey@ci.henderson.nc.us
Phone: 252-482-5676
Committee Assignments: Intergovernmental, Land Planning Public Works

william-burnette-2

William Burnette: Ward 2 At-Large
Term  Expires:   2021
Email: wburnette@ci.henderson.nc.us
Phone: 252-492-3487
Committee Assignments:  Chaplain, Boards & Commission, Public Safety, Public Works

gary-daeke-2

Garry D. Daeke, Mayor Pro-Tem:  Ward 3
Current Term: 2021
Email: gdaeke@ci.henderson.nc.us
Phone: 252-438-7215
Committee Assignments: Human Resources, Land Planning, Public Works, KLRW Advisory Board

Melissa-Elliott

Melissa Elliott: Ward 3 At-Large 
Term Expires: 2023
Email: melliott@ci.henderson.nc.us
Phone: 252-425-5220
Committee Assignments:  Chaplain, Human Resources, Intergovernmental, Public Safety

fearldine-simmons-2

Fearldine A. Simmons:  Ward   4
Term Expires: 2021
Email: fsimmons@ci.henderson.nc.us
Phone: 252-438-8956
Committee Assignments: ,Human Resources, Land Planning, H-911

Jason
Jason A. Spriggs: Ward 4 At-Large
Term  Expires: 2023
Email:  jspriggs@ci.henderson.nc.us
Phone: 919-514-5136
Committee Assignments: Board & Commissions, Intergovernmental, Public Safety